Season 28 Episode 6 – The Age Of Steel, by Tom McRae

May 9, 2008

review by Martin Odoni.

Briefer review here. In itself, this wasn’t much of an improvement on the first part, but as I’d hoped the whole is greater than the sum of its parts, and they work far better when seen in tandem than when seen separately.

I was disappointed that Mickey was written out. I think he’s developed really well and has become far more interesting than Rose, who, with her growing smugness is getting really boring. (With the constant rumours that Billie Piper is poised to leave, and with the increasingly unhappy storylines she’s been getting recently, I was sort of expecting that the character was getting so disillusioned that she’d be on her way out around now.) It was an excellent send-off for Mickey though.

I didn’t notice any Torchwood plugs, though as before, I might’ve missed them, but for now I give an automatic bonus point just for that. It was certainly very scary stuff as well. I still think Lumic was just Davros Mark II – even the way he turns into Cyber Controller is much the same as Davros becoming the Dalek Emperor in the Big Finish audio plays – so I was pretty non-plussed by his demise.

Individually, this episode gets another 6. Bottom line for the story, seeing the whole is greater than the sum, I give it 7 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

