Stories untold: A Disaster of a book

November 17, 2016

An analysis by Neil Wilby of Sir Norman Bettison’s account of the Hillsborough Disaster, Hillsborough: Untold. The book’s claims are treated with great skepticism.

Neil Wilby

I thought long and hard about writing this piece.

Over the past four years I have made friendships that I deeply cherish amongst the bereaved families and survivors of the Hillsborough Disaster and I would never, ever contemplate putting that camararderie at risk.

On my visits to Warrington to hear sittings of the recently concluded inquests I was welcomed by them, sat with them, ate with them and shared the terrible anguish of images on TV screens in court that I will never be truly able to put out of my mind.

I was also sat amongst the Hillsborough Justice Campaign (HJC) group when the Norman Bettison circus came to town and he gave his own version of events.

The dilemna, therefore, was: Do I review a book published by one of the bête noirs of the piece that will re-open scarcely healed wounds? Or, leave it shunned for the short shelf…

View original post 4,378 more words

Leave a Reply

